Coffee24 – Solarplate Flat White

Another flat white from Shot in the Dark during the lunch break of my solarplate etching class. It was hugely sunny in the morning, despite the predicted torrential rain (which mark my words came down later), so I straddled a wall outside and let the sun do its bidding on my orange inky solarplate as I played around with the ink. In fact, I did something so random, but scratching into the ink – the scratches then exposed to the sun – and then covering over the ink, that the tutor was most perplexed by the finished print, but it far exceeded my expectations. It’s strange how quickly a day of printing can go. I didn’t get much done and I went in planless. Apparently no one else was. They all had plans and aspirations. I’ve got a job, and driving lessons, and am supposed to be writing a novel. I can’t also plan an art project to complete in 5 hours! Still seemed to have managed by fluke to come up with a novel related urban sprawl image. The first time I did it  it was a nice idea but the inks were horrible together and we all laughed at the hideous combination, but the second time, spot on I hope. Good stuff.

As expected, afterwards, Cardiff became a ghost town, and people either went into the stadium or to a functioning television to see the battle between the Welsh and the English. A 30 man war!! 16/03/13.

Art School Graffiti

Art School Graffiti

Leave a comment